a filet mignon…no thanks, liver please

One of my dear, farming friend couples, back in my hometown of Hutchinson, raise the most delicious pastured lamb.

If you haven’t heard of them check them out:  The Lamb Shoppe

Here’s a nice article about them from the Wedge.

You can find their products at The Wedge and Seward Co-ops and a few local restaurants.  If you have never tried lamb, start with Lamb Shoppe lamb–your taste buds will be mesmerized!

Now for the liver.  It’s really good! I promise.  Like I said, I’d prefer it to a filet mignon.  It’s not the same texture or flavor but it shines in its own delicious qualities.

The perks: it is very reasonably priced and you can feel good about eating a piece of the animal that most people view as something that ought to be left on the kill floor.  Not only that, it is extremely nutritious.  Go here to the Weston A. Price Foundation’s website to view all about liver’s fantastic qualities.

Doug, the co-owner of the Lamb Shoppe and world champion sheep sheerer, delivers lamb to the Wedge every Thursday and that is liver day for me!  Hooray.

What do I do with it?  Grill it!  Get that grill good and hot then put it on medium high heat.   Season your liver generously with salt, flip it on the grill 3-5 minutes per side.  The liver should have nice grill marks and should barely have any pink left in the center.  Remove it from the heat, let it sit for a few minutes, then eat with a salad and tasty shallot vinaigrette with citrus.

Happy Liver Day–now go out and try some!

Note:  There are many types of liver: beef, lamb, pork, chicken, etc. I find my buds (taste that is) prefer lamb liver grilled, beef liver sauteed with onions and chicken liver in spreads, pates, wrapped in bacon with a glaze or fried up in a pan while I’m roasting a whole bird.  Pork liver when I had it was a little to strongly flavored for me.  I’m going to try it again soon though with a different recipe.  Again, happy liver eating!

Leave a Reply

