a little melon chip

Melons always seem to be over-joyously celebrated the first few days they come in from the field, and then…what the heck am I going to do with all these melons!

Well folks, I’ve tried jam, pickles…all with mixed results, but I think I may have found the solution to a tasty preservation method.

Melon Chips.

Yep, sounds a bit strange and I’ll admit I was skeptical.  I gave it a shot though and yes, success.

To compensate for the overt sweetness that I figured would be present if I straight up dehydrated them, I soaked them in a brine of sugar, vinegar and spices–similar to my cucumber chip recipe.  This brine step is not necessary but I think it added another flavor layer to the chips.

As always enjoy!  Below are images and the recipe.  Let me know how your chips turn out!

 

We start with an exceptional melon varietal: The Crenshaw Melon  (seeds available at Johnny’s Select Seeds: choose the Lily melon)

 

A little hack, whack and mandolin action…

 

Now the spice brine…

 

Soak the melon, spin dry and place on dehydrating sheets

 

Approximately 7-10 hours later…melon chips!

 

Spiced Melon Chips 

makes about 1.5 quarts in a 9 tier dehydrator

  • 3 medium or 2 large crenshaw melons (if using different variety adjust accordingly)
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup cider, white wine or champagne vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons of sugar
  • Spice satchel: (1 bay leave, 3-5 cloves, 1 star anise, 1 cinnamon stick, 1/4 teaspoon coriander, 1/4 teaspoon mustard seed, 1/8 teaspoon black peppercorns)

First make the brine by boiling the water, cider, sugar and spice satchel for about 1 minute.  Remove from heat and let the spice satchel sit for 5 minutes and then remove satchel from brine and let bring cool while you cut the melons.

Next, wash melons and cut off the rind.  (I cut off the ends and then set on it’s side and slice of the rind.  Be sure to cut of enough of the rind to ensure you do not get any white bitterness.)

When melon is rindless, cut melon in half and de-seed.

Cut melon halves into quarters lengthwise and slice quarters 1/4 inch think on a mandolin.

Dump melon into the brine and mix to ensure all the slices are coated in the brine.  Let brine for 10-30 minutes, tossing to distribute brine every 5-10 minutes.

Remove melons from brine and spin dry.

Place on dehydrator racks and dehydrator for 7-10 hours on fruit setting of 135 degrees Fahrenheit and until leathery.

Store in mason jars to enjoy ripe melon all winter long!

One response to “a little melon chip

  1. I actually Think blog post, “a little melon chip nettlefetter” was indeed spot on!

    I actuallycould not agree together with you even more!
    Finally looks like I actuallyfound a weblog truly worth looking through.

    Thanks for your effort, Flossie

Leave a Reply

